Missouri Auto Insurance Requirements
Every state requires different minimum insurance for vehicles on its roads. Senn Insurance Agency of O’Fallon, MO wants you to understand that if you just moved to the state, you will need to obtain auto insurance that fits the requirements of Missouri law.
The laws of the state require you to purchase three types of insurance: property, bodily injury, and uninsured motorist. You must purchase liability coverage for bodily injury in the amount of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. You also have to purchase a liability policy that covers property damage of at least $10,000. Some states do not require uninsured motorist coverage, but Missouri does. You only need uninsured motorist coverage for bodily injury.
While meeting the minimums keeps you legal, the problem is that accidents do happen, and you need a way to pay for the other kinds of accidents. That means carrying full coverage. Think about adding the following to your existing insurance coverage:
- Comprehensive: pays for the repairs to your vehicle when the auto gets damaged by fire, or severe weather, or another named peril.
- Collision: pays for the repairs to your vehicle when it gets damaged in an accident with an object or vehicle.
- Medical payments: pays your medical bills related to an accident.
- Rental car costs: pays for you to rent a car when you cannot use your vehicle due to damage.
- Emergency roadside assistance: covers your costs to get roadside assistance.
Let Senn Insurance Agency of O’Fallon, MO help you with your auto insurance needs. Contact us today to learn about our auto insurance options and potential discounts.
Whether you are buying insurance for a new vehicle or an old car, you want to ensure that you are adequately covered in case of an accident. At Senn Insurance Agency, we discuss the concerns of each client individually to come up with a policy that satisfies their needs. There are several things you should look out for when buying auto insurance in St. Peters or O’Fallon, MO;
How much coverage?
- To find the right policy, come up with how much coverage you need. In Missouri, there is a required minimum thresh hold on the minimum coverage. Our agents at Senn Insurance Agency will advise you on how to ensure that you do not need to ever worry about liability issues.
Your driving record
- It is essential to check with the states department how many tickets you have been issued with. If you are a careless driver or one who is continuously over speeding, this impacts on your insurance coverage. A bad driving record often drives up the cost of insurance. Please discuss this with our insurance agents so we can properly assess what policies will be necessary for you.
Review your insurance policy
- Our customer-centric agents at Senn Insurance Agency will discuss the details of everything in the policy. This is crucial in case your auto has an accident. Be well aware of your limits of coverage as well as where to report in case of an accident. Reviewing your policy annually is also smart. Things can change over the course of a year. Let us help you make the adjustments.
The reputation of the insurance company
You must research the company you intend to buy insurance from. Finding an agency you can grow with is critical. Feel free to visit our office in O’Fallon. MO, or call our agents for more information on auto insurance and how to get a quote.
If you have been found guilty of a DUI or DWI in Missouri, then it is all but guaranteed that your auto insurance premiums will increase. Don’t be left with inadequate coverage or paying for too costly of a policy, contact us at Senn Insurance Agency in O’Fallon, MO and our trusted and professional staff will be sure to answer all your questions.
SR-22 is a vehicle liability insurance document that is required in the state of Missouri for any driver that has lost their driving privileges due to an uninsured car accident or conviction of a traffic-related violation like a DUI. It is important to note that the SR-22 is not an actual insurance policy but is a filling that is added to a person’s automobile insurance policy.
How Much Does SR-22 Insurance Cost?
Unfortunately, there’s no one size fits all answer for this question. The cost of the SR-22 add-on varies widely depending on several factors to include the number of traffic violations on a person’s driving record and how high-risk individual insurance companies deem a driver. At Senn Insurance Agency, we offer competitive rates and would be happy to answer any questions you have and walk you through the policy options.
How to Obtain SR-22:
If you already have auto insurance, it can be added to your policy. For individuals that do not own a vehicle, the process is a little more complicated but not impossible. Whether you are in O’Fallon, MO, or any other city in Missouri, you will need to show proof of automotive insurance to get an SR-22. So, you will need a non-owners insurance policy to proceed forward.
That’s your child behind the wheel, all grown up and anxious to embark on their latest adventure. They have the keys in their hand and a grin that won’t stop spreading. You’ve taught them well, and you trust them to make sound decisions, but a little last-minute review never hurts. Senn Insurance Agency has the 411 on what you need to discuss with your teen driver before they ever back down the driveway:
In O’Fallon, MO, law enforcement can’t stop your teen driver simply because they aren’t wearing their seat belt. This means that seat belt enforcement needs to come from Mom or Dad. Set serious penalties for teens who refuse to buckle up because six out of ten people who died in Missouri car crashes in 2016 were not wearing their seatbelts.
Keep the Phone in the Glove Compartment
O’Fallon, MO has a ban on cell-phone usage while driving for anyone under the age of 21. This is good news for parents, but without follow-up at home, it probably won’t be enough incentive for your teen. Make sure the phone stays in the glove compartment. Be sure to model that same example when you’re behind the wheel as well, because your teen is likely watching.
Leave the Car for Lunch
No eating or drinking in the car while driving. Not ever. No excuses. Require your teen to leave the car for lunch, or to at least park somewhere safe before chowing down. Most people don’t realize it, but eating and drinking behind the wheel is a form of distracted driving that can lead to serious injuries, especially for rookie drivers.
At Senn Insurance Agency, we have the answer to your teen driving questions. Give us a call today for more information.