As of August 28, 2023, texting and driving in Missouri officially became illegal. Bluetooth and talk-to-text are acceptable, but hands on the wheel means hands off the phone. Previously, the law only applied to young drivers under the age of 21, but now it’s all drivers. For now, driving while texting is only a secondary violation, but starting in 2025, a first-time violation will lead to a fine of up to $150. This can increase to $500 for any repeat convictions within two years. Missouri is only the 49th state to ban texting and driving for all ages. And it’s about time.
Don’t Get Distracted
Would you drive the length of a football field while blindfolded? You do that if you look at a text for 5 seconds while doing 55 mph. Driving is something that requires your full attention. Letting yourself get distracted can lead to disaster. Even if you get lucky and no one is killed or hurt, your car could be damaged, sued, and your insurance rates could go up. In every state but Montana, you could get arrested.
The Numbers Are Going Up
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, there has been a 12% jump from 2020 to 2021 in fatal car crashes that involve at least one distracted driver. There have been confirmed 3,522 people killed across the U.S. by distracted driving. Sadly, the numbers may be underreported.
Senn Insurance Agency Serving O’Fallon, MO.
We at Senn Insurance Agency hope you will drive safely. If you are in O’Fallon, MO, and need auto insurance, call us, and we’ll take care of you.